start Free Consultation

How long do I have to file a claim in West Virginia following a motor vehicle accident?

After being involved in a serious motor vehicle accident, the last thing you want to worry about is taking legal action. However, for some, there is no other option. Typically, personal injury lawsuits are pursued in cases of egregious negligence or carelessness leading to an injury that ultimately requires medical care and/or rehabilitation.

While some people may not want to pursue legal action, please understand that there is a time limit you have to file your claim known as a statute of limitations. While each state has its own laws regarding statutes of limitations for personal injury suits, West Virginia places a time limit of 2 years on your claim. The limitation begins from the date of your accident.

If you do not file a lawsuit within the 2-year limitation, your case will likely be time-barred. This essentially prevents you from recovering compensation for your injuries. In some instances, if you discover you were injured as a result of the motor vehicle accident long after the accident, the discovery rule may apply. This rule allows you to file a claim from the date you discovered you were injured and not from the date the motor vehicle accident occurred.

If you or a loved one have been injured in a motor vehicle accident as a result of a negligent driver, please contact the experienced lawyers at Salango Law at (304) 342-0512. We have decades of combined legal experience dealing with motor vehicle accidents.